Financial planning software

To help me keep track/cope/plan my financial future I am desperately seeking better software.  I currently use Quicken to manage my finances.  It functions well for online banking, but I really don’t like the budget and planning portion of the software.  I have utilized spreadsheets in the past but also find them cumbersome.  I have to remember to look everything up and transport it over from Quicken to Excel.

So what am I looking for in a software?

  • Online banking capabilities  I used to overdraft because I’d lose track when managing my account on paper.  You know back in the olden days, like 1998.
  • Budgeting capabilities the software needs to be really easy to use and somewhat automated
  • Envelope system I need to be able to designated “cash” into specific items that I am saving for.
  • Snowball analysis help me keep track of my debt reduction and forecast my payoff dates and amounts

I feel a little like I need to keep quicken because I was just forced into upgrading to the 2010 version.  One day my accounts wouldn’t update with my 2007 version and the program told me I had to upgrade.  I am not sure I can justify spending the money on new software, but if I find the right one or I spend time making my own database in Access, I may go ahead and do so.  As I search for the ultimate budgeting tools, I’ll keep the one person who reads this informed.

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

