Looking Forward to Paying Bills

I must weird, I look forward to paying my bills every month.  I get weird kind of relief and excitement when I get the credit card bill and make that payment.  It feels like a little victory.  Fortunately for me, I haven’t had any major problems making my payments so I don’t get the dread when the bills come in.  I only seem to get the dread when something unexpected happens and I have to dip into my savings.

I still funnel money into a “slush” fund savings account which I use for traveling to see friends, birthday dinners, and occasional BBQs or parties.  Don’t get me wrong, it is only $50 a paycheck.  I also put $100 a paycheck into my Emergency Fund savings account.  It has dwindled recently which makes me nervous.  I had several home repairs happen all at once and I took the money out of that savings account to pay for them.

Still, I get excited to make that payment and watch the principal drop, even when it is a small amount.  I feel a sense of relief that I made it another month and I reduced that gigantic number.

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

