Work Lunches

This month seemed to be overflowing with “group lunches” at work.  I’ve managed to skip out of all of them and reinforced my reputation as being non-social as a result.

Last week I told my work unit that I would not be attending the monthly group lunch and of course I was given a hard time about it.  Not that it is anyone’s business, but I did say it was for monetary reasons.  That got several people riled up and I had two offers of “if I pay for you, will you go?”.   Well, no, I am not looking for charity nor am I trying to be a mooch.  It is my money and the last time I checked I could pick and choose what I felt it was important to spend it on. Besides, if I accepted that would set a precedence and I’d feel I had no choice but to attend the next several “group lunches” even if I didn’t have the money.

One of my co-workers said “well, I’m over-drafting”.  So?  Just because he chooses to overdraft his account for lunch I should too?  I skipped another lunch today as well as several potlucks.  Why other people think I should spend my hard-earned money just to have lunch with people I already see 40 hours a week is beyond me.

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

