Financial Analysis

This week I picked up a book from the library titled “One Year to an Organized Financial Life“.  Although I can’t keep the book from the library for the entire year, I am going to read through it and jot down the important points.  I will  check the book out periodically through the year.  I read the Introduction and chapter 1 so far and the process sounds interesting.  I always thought I had a handle on my finances, at least as far as knowing what my income in and expenses out were.  After all I keep track in of everything with Quicken, so I thought I knew what I was doing.

My debt levels should have been a clue that I really had no idea of my spending.  Really, I am intelligent, just a bit clueless at times.  This weekend I have been going over my expenses with a fine tooth comb.  I started by listing all of my bills, monthly, quarterly, bi-weekly, and yearly.  I mean ALL of them, every thing I spend on the dogs, my house, my car, etc.  No wonder I am broke!  I have a lot of little expenses that add up.  Most of my income goes to paying my debt service and my housing bills, but I did find several expenses that I deem “necessary” that really are not.  Incidentally, quite a few are pet expenses.

I am listing everything out right now as I work toward a balanced budget, but this experience has been quite the eye opener!

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

