Growing My Own Vegetables Post 1

This year I am attempting to grow my own vegetables, again.  I gave it a try last year in some left over plastic pots that I received from a friend, it was an utter failure.  This year I purchased a book called “Square Foot Gardening” and built a raised bed garden in front of my deck.  My backyard is shaded by trees and this is the only place that gets any significant amount of sun.  If I remember correctly the pot garden last year yielded lots of parsley and two entire zucchini!

Box Garden View from Above

I took more time and planned the garden a little bit better this year.  This weekend I finished planting two tomato and two mystery plants that I think may be zucchini, I hope they are zucchini!   They were dropped off at my house by my aunt.  I suppose I could call and find out what they are, but she’ll be back again in a few weeks and I can find out then.   Saturday I headed over to the produce and plant store and purchased some herbs, squash and peppers to fill in the rest of bed.  I am crossing my fingers and hope to have a bountiful garden this year.

Now that I don’t cook meat, growing my own vegetables should save me some money.  Later I’ll do an analysis on the amount of money that went into the garden versus the amount that I save and see if it will be cost effective next year.  If not, my dog would love to use it as a digging box.  Hence all the fencing around it right now.

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

