Cheap Fun?

Today was “Be a Tourist in Your Hometown” day in which $1  admitted you into all the participating attractions.  I decided to participate for the first time in its 16 year history, how could I not, it was only $1.

But was it really cheap?  yes and no.

The cost for the admission to any of the participating attractions was only $1, but I forgot to add in the cost of gas to drive all over town, parking, and food.  In the end my $1 day cost me at least $20.  The unexpected price in the future is my new desire to take a pottery class at $220.  I obviously can’t afford it right now, all one has to do is look at my sidebar to know that, but I am interested in taking one someday.

One of the attractions I visited was the Greater Lansing Potters Guild, which is a privately owned facility that only opens its doors to the public this one day a year.  We had a guided tour by one of the guild members and I met a very interesting woman from Switzerland.  Who was, I think, fascinated by the fact that I am 1/4 Swiss.  Maybe it’s because most people claim Irish, French, Italian, etc ancestry.  I can’t say I’ve ever met anyone who said their family was Swiss but me.

I really want to try out a pottery wheel and I wonder how long it will take me to save $220.  Better yet, is there a way for me to justify the expense.

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

