Why Single in Debt?

In my About page I talk a little about why I started this blog, but I never mention why I named it Single in Debt, other than the obvious that I am single.  I think  being single and trying to get out of debt poses some different issues than being part of a couple or having a family.  When I started reading tips for being frugal and other blogs on debt reduction it seemed at the time they were geared toward families (single parents with kids, married with kids) .  Now, that I’ve been exposed to other blogs since I started this, I can see there are other singles out there.

From reading the personal journeys of others digging themselves out of their holes I’ve concluded that there are advantages and disadvantages of being on my own.

Some of the advantages I perceive to being single:

  • I alone determine how the money gets spent.
  • I spend less in total on groceries and personal items (toiletries), utilities, and gas.
  • I can spend more time on planning, budgeting, and figuring out how to bring in more income without feeling like I am neglecting a relationship.

Some of the disadvantages I perceive to being single:

  • Buying in bulk costs me more and saves me nothing
  • I spend more on a per person basis for food, personal items, utilities, and gas.
  • I have no potential for a full-time second income.
  • Every problem that arises I have to deal with on my own, sometimes two heads are better than one.
4 responses to “Why Single in Debt?

  • Vicki

    Hi Jenn – Like you I am ‘Single in Debt’ but unlike you, there was this other person in my life in which helped create the debt. When I realized that he was not going to help me, it was time to get out. All the struggles you face, I am facing. I have the added responsibility of raising a teenage daughter on my own. I get some assistance from her father, but not a whole lot. Here is one thing that is true. If you are determined to get out of debt, you will do it. It is that simple. You cannot let downfalls derail you. Just re-assess, adjust and go with the flow. You will get there. One day at a time.

  • Young Mogul

    I am single and in a little debt–less than $1000 on a credit card and a little student loan debt. The advantage to being single in debt, in my opinion, is that–at this point– I know my values and can choose a mate who shares my values.

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

