Cleaning Supplies

I looked under my kitchen sink the other day and realized I have tons of cleaning products I never use and plan to get rid of this weekend.  Don’t worry, I still clean my house.  I have simply pared down my necessary cleaning supplies to a select few items that individually or combined can clean just about everything, except the mildew in my shower.

The bonus?  Everything is natural, cheap, and lasts forever.

The cleaning product I use the most? It is a toss-up between baking soda and Dr. Bronners Sal-Suds.  I have been using both almost exclusively for a month and the containers still look full.

I purchased a few spray bottles and wrote with a sharpie the cleaning product I was putting in them.  I am using Sal-suds as my general purpose cleaner, since it is concentrated a little in a spray bottle with water goes a long way.  I anticipate the $11 bottle I purchased will last me at least a year, if not more.

The baking Soda I purchased in a bulk bag and use as a paste to clean the steel sink and any metal fixtures.  It can also be used as an emulsifier mixed with Dr. Bronners Soap to create shampoo.

My last main cleaning product is white vinegar.  I use it to clean the dog bowls, coffee pot, and as fabric softener.  It does great on getting the coffee oils and dog saliva off things.  In relation to laundry, my friend told me a trick that I will try when I run out of dryer sheets, throw a crumpled ball of tinfoil in the dryer and it will help with static.

My next big step is making my own laundry soap with Dr. Bronners, Washing Soda, and Borax.  I found a recipe online that I will try but I am still looking for a free container to use.

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

