Menu Planning

First of all, Happy Fourth of July! I need to go grocery shopping, hence my topic for today.

I am very poor at menu planning and decided this is the week I am going to try to gain that skill.  By planning my menu for a week at a time I hope to save on groceries and eating out.  I admit that a significant portion of my monthly food budget goes to Subway.  My other weakness is lattes.

I feel that it is more difficult to menu plan when your on your own.  When I cook a meal it seems to last for days on end and I get pretty tired of whatever it is quickly.  I probably spend less money on food than a multi-person household, but waste more as well.  One of my biggest complaints is that I can’t always seem to eat the food before it goes bad.  This is especially true for fruits and vegetables.

My plan is to set up a menu for this week and only purchase those items.  I figure I’ll try to make the recipes for two servings each that way I don’t get tired of eating the dish.  I am hoping that helps.

Any tips or advice to menu planning?

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

