Running Again!

I went running yesterday for the first time since I injured myself in October with something called a “turf toe” injury, very painful and slow healing.  It isn’t technically healed yet, but I received the go ahead to begin running a month ago, it took me another month to run again.

It was like starting all over from the beginning; frustrating, painful, and hard.  It was a bit like having a financial setback.  You think you’re doing great, you have momentum and wham, an injury (unexpected expense) takes you back not two steps but miles.

I ended up doing 1.71 miles of mostly walking interspersed with running.  I felt like I was going to die, but I did it, and I’ll do it again tomorrow, and the next day, and the next.  It will get easier each day just like digging  myself out of this debt hole.  The hard part is getting started.

2 responses to “Running Again!

  • Young Mogul

    I started running for the first time on Memorial Day. Yes, it does take some time to get stamina. But, now I love it!

    • Jenn

      In the past I’ve done numerous 5ks, 10ks, and couple of half-marathons as a walker. I was just getting started in running last year before my injury. I miss racing immensely even though it wasn’t a cheap hobby.

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

