Shopping and Not Buying

I went shopping over the weekend and didn’t purchase a thing (other than the $3.66 knob thingy I needed for the lawn mower)!  I am pretty proud of myself.  I didn’t really need anything but there are a few things I’d like to purchase in the future.  So instead of just purchasing them I went window shopping for the average price.  I am bargain shopping for cloth napkins and glass containers.  I used to use paper towels as napkins, but since I eliminated my paper towel use I need to pick up some reusable napkins.  The glass containers are for food storage, as I am trying to eliminate the use of plastic containers.  Who needs chemicals leaching into my food when I throw leftovers in the microwave, not me!

I tried to stick with the kitchen section of each store but found myself wandering the aisles looking at all kinds of items I would have felt I “needed” in the past.  I had no desire to spend money on any of it.  They say it takes 28 days to kick-start a new habit.  I’ve been writing this blog for more than 28 days.

I think I may have developed a new habit of not spending money for unnecessary items.

2 responses to “Shopping and Not Buying

  • Young Mogul

    Good for you! I know, for me, once I felt the shopping cravings start to subside, it made this journey totally worth it. Now, I don’t get any urge to buy unnecessary things anymore. It’s a great feeling!

    It also has spilled over into my eating habits. Now, I have little urge to eat junk food or any other foods I know don’t agree with me.

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

