My Garden Is Producing

I have mini-vegetables!!!

I checked on my box garden today and I have several small green tomatoes and one orange tomato, three peppers, and a second summer squash.  None of them are ready to pick and be eaten quite yet, but they do seem to grow overnight, so maybe by the weekend.  I would present photos, but as I stated a few posts ago, my camera is not working properly.

One thing I have noticed with the garden is that all the plants producing are located at the northern end of the box.  Using my thorough deducting skills, I am inclined to think that this is the portion that gets the most sunlight.  Next year I’ll have to plant greens or potatoes in the southern portion of the box with more shade.  I think they need less sunlight, but I’ll need to check on that over the winter.

The summer squash, while doing well, has over-run my butternut squash plants and they have since perished.  Despite what the gardening book says, I need more than a square foot of space for a squash plant.  I have harvested one squash from my garden so far this year, which means I am on par with last year.  As long as I can get a tomato and a pepper I will exceed last year’s harvest.

I definitely can’t call myself a gardener, but I will probably do this again next year.  I already have everything in place except the plants, so I might as well.  I just need to pick different things to grow.

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

