August Spending Challenge

In response to my post “Falling off the Wagon” my friend Jess challenged me to spend only $30 a week on food for four weeks.  This posting is my official acceptance of that challenge!

For the month of August I am attempting to spend only $30 a week on groceries.  This will be difficult for me, but I thrive on challenges and competition, even if I am only competing with myself.  I guess this means no more stops at Subway.  I am not sure what I can eat for $30 a week that is healthy and this may require some innovative thinking on my part.

Rules of the Challenge:

  • The $30 a week is for new food purchases only.  I have some food in the house, although not much, and I don’t plan to calculate the actual price for ingredients from my kitchen or garden.
  • I am not counting any “free” food toward the $30. I use the term “free” to mean any foods brought into the office to share and or any meals eaten at friends homes or purchased by others for me.

My only question is: If I have a gift card to a coffee shop does that count towards the $30 or is it “free” coffee ?

3 responses to “August Spending Challenge

  • Marsha

    Good luck. You can do it.
    Coupons and sales are your best friends. Also check out recipe sites. You can put in what you have on hand and find out somethings to make with them.

  • Jess

    Awesome Jenn! I will tell you we ate a lot of beans and rice with onions and garlic. Frozen peas, corn on the cob and fruit in season will help keep you eating healthy. Eggs are a cheap protein source.

    When Ben and I stopped all purchases we were in a pretty desperate situation. Ben had lost his job and I only had a part time job. It was a desperate race for me to get a job – which took 3 months. I really don’t know how we made it!
    We really got into the no spending philosphy – bragging that we were no longer consumers.

    P.S.
    Gift cards are money, they are just money made of plastic. Don’t fall into their trap.

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

