Preparing For The Winter Blues

I have a problem with SAD (Seasonal Affective Disorder) in the winter and a more mild case of the summer blues.  July/August and January/February are the worst months for me physically and emotionally.  Right now it is taking all the effort I can muster to do just about anything.  The heat and humidity make me groggy, cranky, and depressed. I could never live any further south than I do (Michigan).  I was just not made for hot weather and I’d give anything to be in Alaska or Northern Canada right now.  I don’t have trouble with cold temperatures, it can be -20 below and I’ll still bundle up and take the dogs out for a walk.  The problem in winter is the lack of daylight.

Now that I am in the middle my summer period I am trying to focus on it’s end by preparing for my winter SAD period.  Sounds counter-intuitive, but trust me it helps.  There is not a lot of advice out there for how to deal with a summer blues, the focus seems to be on solutions for the winter blues rather than the summer blues.  My guess is that more people suffer from the winter blues. Your supposed to enjoy warm weather and sunshine, right? Ugh!

This week I went to a local pharmacy/medical store and found out that they rent light boxes by the month.  I’ve started putting aside money for the rental starting in October.  If I decide to keep the light box permanently the store will put the rental fee toward the purchase.  I see it as a win-win situation.  I get to try out the box to make sure it works for me before committing hundreds of dollars to its purchase.

To be honest, I’ve known I needed one for years but have always put off buying one based on the cost.  This year I decided that the price was worth it after having a particularly bad winter in 2010.

Happiness and peace of mind are always worth the price!  Now, if only there was an easy solution to the summer blues beside central AC!

6 responses to “Preparing For The Winter Blues

  • Young Mogul

    You’re probably right about not moving any further South. We have had heat advisories for going on a week now, with temperatures reaching up to 107 degrees, with a heat index of 115 degrees with extreme humidity.

    I’m a Southern girl, so I can’t take the cold and could never live up North. But, I have recently discovered that in the South, you are trapped indoors during the Summer and up North, you are trapped indoors for Winter. So, you are simply trading one for the other.

    I also get SAD in Winter because of the lack of light. It is especially bad during the first week when I’m trying to adjust to daylight savings time.

    • Jenn

      Ugh, I can’t imagine 107 degrees. It has been in the 80s and 90s here, which to you would probably feel like a cold front. Anything over 75 feels too hot for me.

  • Vicki

    Funny – I used to love the summer, but since moving to Murrieta (which is a high desert), I hate it. I just can’t get comfortable. It is always too hot to hang out at our apartment community pool. When I lived closer to the beach, we would go to beach nearly every day after work. And the winters were not that bad. Here in the desert, it is biting cold.

    • Jenn

      I don’t feel comfortable in the heat. At least with the cold I can adjust the number of layers, turn up the heat, put on a warmer jacket. With the heat all I can do is wear less clothing, which I am reluctant to do.

  • Jess

    I will be interested to hear how it works Jenn. As the gray skies of Michigan are not something I miss.

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

