Changing Internet Providers

Yesterday, I decided to finally change my internet provider.  I have been thinking about it for some time, but was reluctant to make the move.  It seems like every time I decide to change services (any services), even if the monthly rate is less, it ends up costing me a ton of money in activation fees and equipment.

I currently have DSL at up to 1.5 Mbps, which has served me well for a few years.  However, since I ditched the cable and watch TV through the internet, it just isn’t quite fast enough.  I also think it has been noticeably slower for the last several months. Well, this time I negotiated the prices and managed to get the company to lower the monthly price to my current amount for up to 6.0Mbps in speed for six months and throw in a free modem.  In six months I will have to renegotiate the price again but I am getting the faster internet service and I’m still paying less than I would with cable TV.

I can’t help thinking how much we are overcharged for cable, internet, and telephone if we can negotiate lower prices.  The trick is to figure out how low the company will go and for how long to retain or get our business.  Of course if you can’t get a price you want, you have to be prepared to walk away.

Since I use the internet far more than any other service, for entertainment and work, it is the one thing I am not sure I could live without.  Who knew 16 years ago when I thought Gopher was the coolest thing ever and I had only ever seen a text version of a website that the internet would be so integrated into life.

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

