Working Overtime

I mentioned earlier this week that I was in the middle of a nightmare project at work and stressed out.  Well, it is going to get worse before it gets better!

I have several deadlines that are due by September 30, on this date is my project either continues or dies a horrible death.  It also happens to be the last day of the fiscal year, which is why it is so important.

If the project relied solely on me getting work done I wouldn’t worry, but there are five other people involved and a consulting firm.  Too many cooks or dominoes, not sure which!  Anyway, I have the green light to work as much overtime as I need to get the work done by that date.  So, I am guessing any social life, even as mediocre as mine is, is going to be evaporating.

Right now, your probably thinking “oohh time and a half!!  That is good news financially.”

Well, no.  Overtime pay does not go into effect or any pay at all for that matter.  I am an exempt employee, which means I am considered “a professional”, supposedly salaried.  On the bright side, I can earn compensatory time off.  So I am hoping that I earn enough to take a week or two off starting October 3.  I need to leave a few days of the new fiscal year to tie up loose ends.

Ah, vacation, how dream of thee!

One response to “Working Overtime

  • Jess

    Good luck with that huge project. I might use this as an example for my students to help them see that big group projects are a big part of the real world.

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

