What is Money to Me?

This week I began to comment on Mogul in Training’s Blog about how people view money and realized I had a lot more to say on the subject than a simple comment.  So I decided to give her some link love instead and write an entry here.

In the past, I equated money to time and thought of it simply as a means to pay other people or buy “Things”.  I was always willing to pay whatever it took to save me time.  I prefered to shell out money to not have to spend time on things I didn’t want to do so I could spend it doing the things I wanted.  Which would have been fine if I had the money, but I didn’t.  I was using borrowed money and therefore borrowed time.  I am now working more and paying for that “borrowed time”.

I also used to be very negative about people who spent money on things I thought were ridiculous like designer clothing, expensive cars, and large homes.  I always said money wasn’t important, equating it to material goods.   As Mogul in Training pointed out, money is simply a tool to use in your life.  She has a very good point and I realized to some extent I still hadn’t quite come around to thinking about money as a tool yet.  I had evolved to viewing it as a safety net, but as I am writing this, I realize it really is just a tool.  If used correctly, money can be very powerful in my life and the lives the people around me.  I like this way of thinking and need to nurture this notion in myself.

I have plans for my future and those I love that require money.  What are those plans?

  • Like I posted yesterday, I want to write bigger checks to the charities of my choice.
  • I want to live comfortably well within my means and not worry about unexpected expenses.
  • I want to love the work I do and not worry that it doesn’t pay enough to cover my bills.
  • I want to be able to take a vacation once in a while.
  • I want to be the awesome “Auntie Jenn” that paid for ballet and summer camp for P, N, & J.
  • I want to help provide P, N, & J all the adventures and experiences I was denied growing up and maybe get to experience some of those adventures with the kids.

All this takes money. Money is the tool.  I need to start viewing it that way and prioritize my future needs and desires with my immediate needs and desires.

I know this intellectually, but in practice I am still struggling.

2 responses to “What is Money to Me?

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

