I don’t really make that…

As I look forward to the end of my temporary pay cut on October 1, I started thinking about how much I make, supposedly.  We are definitely in for another round of budget and pay cuts this upcoming fiscal year, so I expect I’ll experience another reduction in my pay.  Whether it is temporary or permanent remains to be seen.  No big deal, I am expecting the reduction and will adjust accordingly.

It did get me thinking, however, about my salary.  This last week or so I realized, as I was speculating about what form this pay cut will take, that I have not made whatever amount is listed as my salary since 2003.  Between layoff days and Banked Leave Time, that number that I supposedly make has never been grossed by me.  Granted, the number has changed from year to year, upwards due to mostly promotions, not so much raises, but I still have never seen the salary.

I am not complaining, I just find it an interesting fact as I prepare for the new budget year problems we will be facing.

At least on paper it looks good.

One response to “I don’t really make that…

  • Jess

    This year we teachers have a 10% pay cut. It is very tough to handle when at the same time they are squeezing so many kids in our classrooms, they are right on top of each other and we don’t have enough equipment for 37 kids. Thankfully, this is the nicest bunch of kids ever.

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

