“Maxed Out”

I love documentaries and my streaming Netflix is always suggesting ones for me.  Handy, but if I think about how much they are tracking my choices, a bit scary.

Last night I watched a documentary called “Maxed Out”.  It was fairly well done, definitely biased (like a Michael Moore documentary), but interesting.  I think I might have to put it on a periodic rotation list.  Every time I start to falter and think “it would be easier to just buy (fill in the blank)” I should watch this documentary.

It is a sad and disturbing documentary to watch.  I feel for the 57-year-old woman who has lost everything right before retirement, the women whose college age kids committed suicide because of their credit card debt, and even the pawn shop dealer who is in direct competition with a cash advance place that is owned by his own bank.   While I prefer my documentaries not so single sided, I still recommend watching this.  On occasion I too have felt like this is impossible to escape from.  I especially felt this  in the past, before I was willing to change myself and my lifestyle.  Now, even though it still seems a little insurmountable, I have hope I will get myself out.

One response to ““Maxed Out”

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

