I Want To Pay….

I am really lucky that I consolidated my student loans when I did, my interest rate is at 2.75% with automatic withdrawal.  I can’t imagine paying back over $80,000 otherwise.  Today is payday and my student loan payment was supposed to exit my account two days ago.  When I went into my checking to pay some other bills this morning I noticed the payment had not cleared.  Which is unusual, the federal government is very prompt in taking my money away.

I went online to my student loan account and was greeted with the words “In school deferment granted from 6/10 to 5/12”.

WHAT?  When did I enroll in school?  I didn’t apply to any schools, I didn’t apply for a deferment.  My mother is back in school working on her second Masters (paid for by the University), maybe they confused her with me.  I thought for a brief month or so that I might go back to school, but changed my mind when I thought it through.

While not paying for two years sounds wonderful in theory, I know that some of that money will continue to accrue interest.  Been there, done that, and not going to again.

So, now I need to spend an hour or so today on the phone begging them to take my money.  I want to continue to pay my loan…..well, sort of.

2 responses to “I Want To Pay….

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

