Laundry Soap Recipes

I mentioned before that I am in the process of trying to make my own laundry soap.  It is cheaper and can be more environmentally friendly, depending on what you use.  Turns out my aunt and grandma are also making their own laundry soap and they sent me the recipes they use.  I don’t know why I didn’t ask them sooner, as my aunt is all about homesteading and doing things the “old-fashioned” way.  Here are the two recipes that she sent me:

Powdered: 2 cups Fels Naptha Soap finely grated; 1 cup Arm & Hammer washing soda; 1 cup Borax.  I mix well and store in plastic container.   I make at least 4 batches at once.  One bar of soap will grate into 2 cups.    2 tablespoons per load.   ( I use 3).

Liquid: 1/2 cup washing soda; 1/2 cup borax and 1/3 bar grated soap.  Heat 3 pints of water. Add grated soap and stir until melted. Then add the soda and borax. Stir until dissolved. Remove from heat. In a 2 gal clean pail, pour 1 quart of hot water and add the soap mix. Top pail with cold water and stir well.  Use 1/2 cup per load, stirring soap before each use (will gel).

The only issue I seem to be having is grating the Fels Naptha.  I called my aunt and she told me that she purchased an old meat grinder at a garage sale and is using that to grate the soap.  She cuts it into cubes and grinds it that way, much faster than using a knife or hand grater, which is what I have now.  So I called my best friend, who loves to resale shop, and she remembered seeing one at the local thrift shop.  Hopefully, she will remember to pick it up for me before someone else purchases it and I can pick it up in October.

All in all the process is easy.  The approximate costs for the products: Fels-Naptha $1.50, Borax $4.50 , Washing Soda $3.99. The Borax and Washing Soda should give you several batches and Ivory can be substituted for the Fels Naptha.

I have not used the laundry soap yet, but my aunt swears it works well.  I will probably get around to using it by October when I run out of the liquid soap I have.  Good luck to anyone one that tries this and let us know if you discover more tricks and tips.

2 responses to “Laundry Soap Recipes

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

