December Pressure

It is the first day of December and the last month of 2010.  As I have stated before, I love the start of a new month.  While I would like to keep all the money I pay out, I feel as if I will be one step closer to my goals.

December is tricky, though.  The holidays, while a wonderful time for most, but can also be the stressful and depressing.  The pressure to spend money on activities and gifts for family and friends is what drives us all into overspending causing depression.  If you don’t have any friends and family to spend money on, depression.

This year, I didn’t set any money aside for gifts and am not sure how I am going to afford to give any.  It has already started at work, in addition to giving to various charities and holiday lunches, there is a rash of retirements that people are collecting for as well.  I am staying away from the “silent auction’ at work this year, not even tempting myself.  I am not giving to the retirement envelopes that are coming around.  Ironically, the envelopes are usually for the highly paid upper management who don’t know my name.  If it were for the guy that spent the last eight years sitting next to me, I’d give.

I handed the reins of my annual cookie exchange party to someone else this year for the first time in a decade.  I only have to make cookies this time rather than cater a small party relieving much stress and financial resources I used to put into it.  The cookies will end up as small gifts to friends and family.

All in all, I am doing less, but it still hurts the wallet.

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

