Becoming Less Lazy About Money

I realized that I am becoming less lazy about money.

What does that mean?  It means I am no longer taking the easy road that is paved in spending and looking for the harder but cheaper one.

Why do I think this is?  Because I am doing my own taxes and efiling them for free for the first time since I switched from a 1040ez to a 1040.  Basically I have either paid someone to do my taxes or used a software for over ten years.

Some years my taxes were complicated enough to require a professional, like when I rolled over a Traditional IRA into a Roth, or when I itemized for the very first time.  Usually, however, my taxes are not that complicated and this year I am doing it on my own.  I investigated a way to efile for free without income restrictions and am all set to file once the IRS finishes updating the Schedule-A forms.

While it is easier to pay someone else $125 and have my taxes done without any thought on my part, I just can’t justify it this years.  Especially since nothing has changed and I can use last year’s return to follow along.

I wonder where else I can save money if I stop being lazy?

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

