Off the CSA Waitlist, Finally!

Years ago I belonged to the MSU Student Organic Farm CSA.  I split a share with two other people, which made it more affordable but complicated.  A share is meant to feed a family of four who eat a lot of vegetables.  At the time, I did not eat a ton of vegetables and felt my portion was wasted.  Not only that but trying to get together with three people to actually split the share up was difficult.

Two years ago I decided I wanted back in and so did one of the other persons i had split the share with in the past.  I was eating more vegetables and she really missed the fresh food.  SHe also happens to be a good friend that I see more often so splitting the share up wouldn’t be as difficult.  So we decided to join again, two years ago!

The farm was full and we ended up on the waitlist!

Last night I received the email that we finally made it off the waitlist and have until March 1st to join and keep our place.  I hope she still wants to do this because I am excited to get my hands on a weekly supply of fresh organic vegetables from June to October.  Even better, now that I often cook for two, the vegetables will be used.

The expense is great outright, $690 for the summer session share, but overall it translates to about $20 a week for my half.  Not too shabby, and since my garden last year was a failure, I feel a CSA is the way to go!

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

