It Was a Hot Summer

……….and I am paying for it in April.

I keep most of my utilities on a levelized billing plan.  I find it easier to budget every month and I don’t get the winter and summer bill extremes.  Usually I pay less on them in April when they rectify the bill fo me over or under paying.  In the past I have always ended up over paying and have a nice small bill in APril.  Not this year!

This year I have a whopping $236 underpayment to make up for my electricity.  Apparently I used my AC this summer much more than usual.  Eek! Hopefully I will get my tax return in time to pay it and not have to take it out of my savings account.  I should have been more careful last summer and turned it off more.  At least this summer I will be sharing the costs.  Although we haven’t talked much about temperature control.  I think I am just expected to get blankets in the winter and hang out in the basement in the summer.  Both of which I am on board with.

Levelized billing is nice, but it does not help to keep track of utility usage very well.  I am sure had I received a high bill in the month of July I would have been more conscious of the AC in August.

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

