Switching Primary Checking is Nerve Wracking

I am in the process of switching to a different checking account and I am paranoid I will overdraft or miss a bill!!!

I don’t remember it being this bad last time I switched banks, but then I didn’t have EFTs.  I am not actually switching banks.  In fact, I am not even switching master accounts.  I decided to create a second checking account to handle all things related to my home, including the rent check my mom will deliver to me.  I figured it would keep things separate and I won’t accidentally spend the house money on my new life. I have to subsidize her every month so I have $200 transferred every paycheck into the account.  Over time that should build up a little to pay for minor repairs that might come up.

Originally I was going to transfer all the house related items to a new checking account and continue to use the one I had for my main checking.  Unfortunately, switching my mortgage EFT was much more complicated than I thought it would be and I didn’t want to mess around with it.  Not in this environment of mistaken foreclosures.  So now I am leaving all the house stuff and transferring everything else, including my paycheck direct deposit.

When everything is finalized and I start receiving rent from my mom, this will work great.  Until then, I have to constantly monitor the accounts and transfer money.  Pain!

I can’t wait for June!

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

