Taking a class saves money?

In an effort to enhance  my marketable skills, fulfill my interests, and address some of my deficiencies I have enrolled at the local community college.  This summer I took a refresher math course over an eight week period.  I also enrolled in a Math course this fall.  This has led me to an interest in business and accounting.  I keep going back and forth about whether to stay at the cheaper school or transfer to Michigan State University.  Right now I am staying at the community college and taking the courses I know are the prerequisites I need and any classes that MSU says will transfer.  This will take me several semesters and then I’ll figure out what to do next.

In the meantime, my loans are in in-school deferment.  I don’t have any payments due, but I am still paying them.  The wonderful thing is now instead of $165 of my payment going to interest and $50 to principal it has reversed itself.  My principal is going down faster.  Several semesters of this and I will have made a nice dent in my student loan debt!

Technically I am not “saving” money because I pay tuition, but I am saving interest money paid on my loan!

One response to “Taking a class saves money?

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

