Finally, A Breather

My classes are over!  I took my final on Tuesday and I have until January 9, 2012 to enjoy my time off.

I went into the final with a 97% and unless I totally bombed the test I should still end up with a 4.0 for the semester.  I finally settled on my classes for next semester after registering and dropping the same few classes several times.  I want to go into business accounting and trying to figure out how I can afford to make that career change has occupied my time since November.  I have paid for my classes thus far in cash.

I looked into getting another BA, getting an MBA, or just doing an Associates.  I already have a BA and an MS, getting an Associates fells a little like going backwards!  Given my financial situation and the fact that I will most likely take a pay cut, I couldn’t justify the BA or the MBA at the moment.  I am going to continue taking classes toward the Associates and continue looking into the cost/benefit of the MBA.  I make good money and have great benefits, BUT, I have nowhere to move and am really unhappy.  I would really prefer to have more opportunities and I think the MBA is the way to go.

Unfortunately, I can’t afford it right now.

But, I also can’t afford to stay where I am much longer for my mental health and happiness.  If I take at least 24 credits of accounting I can start applying for accounting jobs within the organization, a step in the right direction. Right now I am stuck in my exact position, forever!  I am too specialized.

2 responses to “Finally, A Breather

  • Louise

    thats a great GPA! good on your for doing so well, hope you enjoy your time off from study

  • Jenn

    Thanks. In High School and undergrad I was a classic underachiever. I put in minimal effort for a C or B. Why study, go to class, or do homework when I could skate by. It wasn’t until my late 20s when I went to grad school that I became convinced I had to 4.0 everything. Ironically, it is also the time when people kept telling me grades don’t matter. Wish I had figured it out sooner that they do matter when your younger.

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

