I Hate Car Shopping

I really do.

However, after test driving a few vehicles, I have it narrowed down to two.  I am sure I could test drive a million more, but I had an idea of what I wanted.  This helped me eliminate the vast majority of cars out there.  I wanted a medium-sized hatchback or a small SUV.   So I test drove the following:

  • Hyundai Elantra Touring
  • Toyota RAV-4
  • Pontiac Vibe
  • Hyundai Santa Fe
  • Subaru Forester

Honestly, there wasn’t a whole lot out there that met my criteria.  I know whatever vehicle I purchase I will have for the next ten years or so, so I am trying not to settle.  The Forester has always been my dream car, but is really expensive, even used.  I didn’t like the interior of the Vibe and RAV-4, even though they drove well, and the Santa Fe felt too big.  We have, for affordability, settled on the Elantra Touring.  I ikkd driving it and the Boyfriend felt the most  comfortable in it.  He will have to test drive it as well, since it will become our main car.  I don’t particularly like to drive and when we go out about town together, he’ll drive it instead of his gas guzzeling SUV.  Right now, we go out in the SUV, since he won’t drive my current vehicle, or ride in it unless he has to.

Unfortunately, used Elantra Tourings are hard to come by right now, there are three within a 100 mile radius.  We decided to continue looking, since my car hasn’t died yet, and see if any more pop-up for sale in the coming months while I try to put together a bigger down payment.  The Forester is still a possibility, if we get lucky and come across one that I can afford or if I can get a good down payment together, but the odds in favor of a Touring.  A new Touring is still cheaper than a used Forester, so you can imagine the difference in price.

There is a chance I will get my so-called Healthcare money returned this spring.  If I do, that will be at least $2000 toward the new car. WooHoo!

2 responses to “I Hate Car Shopping

  • Jeff

    I have a 2002 pontiac sunfire. It is just as good as the day my wife bought it brand new. Pontiac has always been great. But they don’t make pontiacs anymore so that is something to keep in mind.

    • Jenn

      We’ve decided that the Elantra Touring is the car for us. I just need to save more toward the down payment and monitor the web for an affordable used one. There are not many available within a 100 mile radius.

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

