Fate Forced My Hand on the Car

I have a new vehicle.  A spiffy blue 2009 Pontiac Vibe.

Why didn’t I wait until spring like I had planned?

Last week was  bit rough for me, not a bad week, just stressful.  I ended up getting sick starting on the Friday before Christmas, which ended up with my BF taking me to urgent care on Monday for antibiotics.  It turned into a nice Sinus Infection.  My illness peaked on Wednesday and I ended up missing three days of work.  Today is my first day back in over a week.

We came home last Tuesday after having our final family Christmas to find my car totaled.  It was parked on the street in front of the house, so only the car was hurt.  According to the neighbors about 8pm a jeep came barreling down the street and crashed into the back of a truck. The driver got out, his front end smashed in, anti-freeze leaking everywhere, looked at the damage and got back into his jeep and took off.   He then proceeded to smash into the back of my car and took off again.

Everyone suspects drunk driving and I know the cops found him, but I haven’t talked to the deputy yet.  I only had PLPD, which for those of you not in Michigan means my insurance only covers damage to others.  Once my vehicles reach a certain point where it costs more per year to keep full coverage than the car is worth I switch.  I did get $250 for scrapping it.

I spent the entire week, when not sleeping and going through all the kleenex in the house, looking for another car.  We came really close to buying a new Hyundai Elantra Touring, but they wouldn’t come down to my price and I wouldn’t go up to theirs.  In the end I am glad I didn’t get the new car, but found a Vibe that was more affordable.

My only regret?  It is the first time I’ve had a car payment since 2004 and I will now have to add it to my debt totals.  It sure is nice not driving a beater though!

2 responses to “Fate Forced My Hand on the Car

  • Tanner

    Uff, seems you’ve had a rough end to last year, but hopefully this year turns out better. Glad you found a car you liked. Although I’m not looking forward to having a car payment of my own (I’m paying for my dad’s, though) I am looking forward to owning my first me-car.

  • Jenn

    I can technically afford the payment, I just didn’t want to. It has been nice driving a car that isn’t falling apart!

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

