Sickness Has Taken Hold

My boyfriend and I have had a rough week and missed a ton of work hours.  We caught some kind of stomach virus that reared its ugly head on Monday night for me and Tuesday-Wednesday for him.  I still feel off this morning and am debating about calling in again.  In part, because it would be nice to be able to eat without feeling sick and I don’t want to pass it around.  I am not sure how long to wait to go back to work.

I am also supposed to babysit 1.5 year-old twins on Saturday night.  I emailed my friend and let her know what is going on and have her decide if she still wants me to sit.  She is a nurse and should have a better handle on the spread of such an illness.

I have plenty of time built up and nothing pressing at work so taking the time isn’t technically a problem.  However, I am trying to get my sick hours above a certain amount so my LTD payments will be reduced from $54 a pay period to $15.

This is frustrating, as I was sick the week between Christmas and New Years with a sinus infection.  My boyfriend, however, has less hours available and this may be an issue for him.  I have been sick more since I started seeing him than normal.  I guess that is the price you pay for not living on your own and keeping to yourself.

4 responses to “Sickness Has Taken Hold

  • Tanner

    I sure hope you both feel better soon. Those stomach bugs can be really nasty and long lasting. They really zap the energy out of you for days.

  • Hawaii Planner

    Feel better soon! I hate missing work & then coming back & dealing with the issues that have piled up.

  • Jenn

    Thanks for the get wells! Luckily I am in a down time at work right now so I don’t have the stress of looming deadlines. My work projects tend to last about two years at a time with about 6 month in between. My next project begins ramping up into full gear about April.

  • Jess

    Well, this entry is really resonating with me right now. Being sick is horrible! I can’t get anything done. I folded laundry today and I had to rest for an hour. I’m glad to hear this illness eventually goes away. I feel like it will never end.

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

