The Roundworm Infection

Two of the three dogs were due for their annual parasite screening in January.  I kept putting it off and finally gathered samples on our walk yesterday.  I fully expected there not to be any problems so I was taken by surprise when the vet called to say they found signs of roundworm.  Ugh!

I rushed them over to vet, had them weighed and gave them their first dose of medication.  We have to get a fecal sample of the third one sometime today.  If two of them are infected chances are the third is as well.  The thing is, they are all on year-round Interceptor and Heartguard, which is supposed to prevent this from happening.  I had their tests done at a different vet than they normally go to due to moving in with my boyfriend.  My old vet, who I love and am having trouble parting with, is a twenty-minute drive and his is around the corner.  A phone call will be in order to my normal vet as I believe the company will pay for treatment if a dog becomes infected while on their medication.  At least they do for heartworm, maybe not roundworm.

More vet bills and now we have to keep the dogs out of doggy daycare.  We send my boyfriend’s young golden retriever every week.  If we don’t, he drives us insane with the pent-up energy.  It is going to be a long road to recovery. I better get that ball into my boyfriend’s hand and shove him out the door every evening.

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

