Wedding Dress Alterations

Sunday, I went in for my wedding dress fitting.  I did not manage to lose weight to fit into the dress. Therefore, I did not save myself money.

In fact, I may have actually gained a pound or two.  Oh well, I am running now so at least I am trying to get fit, if not losing weight.

When I was in a wedding way back in 1998, I had my bridesmaid dress altered for $180.  The alterations cost just as much as my dress.  I expected my wedding dress alterations to cost at least $150. Imagine my delight and surprise at only paying $70.  I probably could have paid even less if I hadn’t had them add straps to the dress.

Why all wedding dresses are strap-less is beyond me.  If they are not strap-less, they tend to be “modest” dresses, which I find boring and not my taste.  Since I plan to re-purpose my wedding dress, I had the seamstress add straps to mine.  Plus, it makes me feel better knowing it won’t fall down.  Not that it will be possible given how tight it is.

One response to “Wedding Dress Alterations

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

