Sewer Line In The City

Mom called and said the sewer line was backing up again.  Time to clean out the tree roots.

The plumber came and cleaned out the line and sent me an estimate to replace it with PVC.

Do you know how much replacing a sewer line in the city will cost me?  $10,068.

I don’t have $10,068!  Apparently, at least half or more is to pay the city to replace the sidewalk and curb.  I have no recourse, they will not allow me to try to bid the project out.  Ugh!

Frankly, I don’t want to spent ten grand on a house I don’t live in and can’t sell without a loss of at least 30 grand.  I am feeling a little stuck at the moment.  For now, I will continue to clean the tree roots until I no longer can.

I’ll deal with it later.

2 responses to “Sewer Line In The City

  • Bruce

    This is awful Jenn. Chrissie and I also faced a horrendous “new sewer field” quote and after getting several quotes I ended up with Chris Strauss at Michigan Plumbing and their HydroJet system. It worked and saved us about the same amount of money. At least with winter coming on maybe the roots won’t grow anymore until spring and that gives you more time to think of alternatives. Too bad they can’t put a liner of PVC inside the old iron pipe, like they do with steel inside chimney’s.

  • Jenn

    Thanks Bruce for the information. I am happy to see Chrissie showed you my blog.

Leave a Reply

  • Single in Debt

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 35 other followers

  • Archives

